Saturday, November 28

Pres-Elect Biden Moves Forward; Names Members of New Coronavirus Task Force

While Republican senators continue to encourage Trump in his refusal to concede, Pres-elect Joe Biden moves forward by creating a new COVID-19 task force.

In fact, the incoming U.S. president has already revealed the names of the scientists and doctors tasked to address the continuously growing coronavirus problem. The forthcoming Biden administration recognizes the need to act fast as the pandemic continues to cripple the economy; a result of Trump’s lack of faith in the advice of science and public health experts.

Still, when Trump became a coronavirus victim himself, he had nothing but praises for the doctors who were able to pull him out of the infection. His doctors at the Walter Reid Hospital had injected him with high doses of drug cocktails and steroids, a specialized treatment that is not available to the more than 10 million Americans who have been infected; nor were they made accessible to save the more than 242,000 fatalities who succumbed to the effects of the COVID-19 disease.

Pres-Elect Biden Announces Members of New Coronavirus Task Force Under His Administration

First in the Pres-Elect’s list of scientists and doctors to comprise the coronavirus task force under his administration, is Dr. Rick Bright’ who has been named as Chairman. Dr. Bright, a top vaccine expert and veteran immunologist formerly worked under the Trump administration but was ousted for blowing the whistle on the White House administration.

He filed a whistleblower complaint in Congress about the Trump administration’s refusal to act on recommendations to acquire masks and other medical supplies that could have saved many American lives. The last straw that led to Dr. Bright’s ouster from the Trump administration was his public denunciation of Trump’s endorsement of the malaria drug hydroxychloroquine as effective COVID-19 treatment.

In addition to Dr. Bright, President-elect Biden also named top surgeon general Dr Vivek Murthy, former FDA Commissioner David Kessler and Yale University Public Health Professor, Dr. Marcella Nune-Smith to act as co-chairs of the new coronavirus panel.

The nine other members are well-known public health experts who are currently connected, or with previous experience in carrying out federal public health actions as members of government agencies and universities, namely:

Dr. Luciana Borio, Dr. Ezekiel Emanuel, Dr. Atul Gawande, Dr. Celine Gounder, Dr. Julie Morita, Mr. Michael Osterholm, Ms. Loyce Pace. Dr. Robert Rodriguez and Dr. Eric Goosby.